Hilda O'Keefe passes

Hilda O'Keefe in uniformThe Historical Association has been saddened to hear of the passing of Hilda O'Keefe, a charter member, who joined in 1972 and maintaned her interest and commitment as long as she could. Hilda O’Keefe also known as “Nurse O’Keefe,” was formerly of Placentia.  She has a long history of nursing in Placentia and on the Cape Shore. Predeceased by her husband Gerard E. (2002), daughter Carolyn (1977), and grandson Shanon (2000), brothers George (2001) and sister Aletha (2005). Leaving to mourn and celebrate her long life son Paul (Jean) (Stephenville); daughter Eithna (Tony Richardson) (Torbay) and three much loved grandchildren Michael (Jaclyn Aucoin)(St. John’s), Matthew (Gander), and Mark (Stephenville). She also leaves a number of relatives and friends and her extended family of Fairhaven unit at the Agnes Pratt Nursing Home.

The Placentia Area Historical Society considers Hilda to have been a devoted member, a great volunteer in the community and an outstanding citizen. May she rest in peace.

PAHS elects new Executive

The Board of Directors of the Placentia Area Historical Society held its regular monthly meeting in the PADA building on March 21, 2010.  All PAHS directors plus four PAHS members were present.

Read more: PAHS elects new Executive

PAHS Holds annual meeting

The Placentia Area Historical Society held its Annual Meeting on Sunday, March 7, 2010 at the PADA building.

Guest speaker for the occasion was Ken Flynn, Executive Director of the Museum Association of Newfoundland and Labrador.  He gave an overview of the work of MANL and what assistance is available to members.  He also told about training opportunities available.

President Cyril Bambrick gave a report on activities for the year and presented the financial report, which showed a healthy balance. Members approved a new set of by-laws that incorporated material from other such documents used in past with some new additions.

An election was held for a new Board of Directors and elected the following members: Cyril Bambrick, Lee Everts, Christopher Newhook, Elizabeth MacDonald, Ann Devereaux, Helen Griffin, Jeff Collins, Rachelle Connors and Jennifer McCarthy.

A Board of Directors meeting was set for March 21, after which the meeting adjourned to be followed by a brief social.